Our Board

Wyoming Humanities Governance:

Wyoming Humanities governance and direction is vested in the up-to twenty volunteer members who are passionate about the power of the humanities to help our state think critically. They represent the state’s cultural diversity and geographic regions. Five are appointed by the governor. Terms are for three-years and renewable once. Past board members may serve again after a three-year hiatus.

Board members advise the executive director on governance and operations; evaluate and approve grant applications; advocate for Wyoming Humanities with state leaders and our U.S. congressional delegation; exercise fiduciary responsibility; direct and support fund-raising and development strategy; promote awareness and appreciation of humanities throughout Wyoming; and represent Wyoming Humanities at events in their local communities.

Board members meet three to four times a year to review and provide strategic vision, oversee the budget, act on fundraising initiatives, assist with fundraising activities, and supervise the council’s role as an exemplary nonprofit organization. The council meets at various locations throughout the state


2019-2020 Board Member Locations

Rev. Dr. Bernadine Craft Rock Springs, WY
Mary B. Guthrie Cheyenne, WY
Hon. Nancy J. Guthrie Jackson, WY
Willie Le Clair Riverton, WY
Barbara McNab Big Horn, WY
Dr. Maggi Maier Murdock Casper, WY
Rev. Warren Murphy Cody, WY
Carol Seeger Gillette, WY
Fred Schmechel Laramie, WY
Milward Simpson Cheyenne, WY
Sarah Jo Sinclair Sheridan, WY
Kristi Wallin Cheyenne, WY
Isabel Zumel Jackson, WY
Dr. Scott Henkel, Ex Officio Laramie, WY
Dr. Sandra Caldwell, Ex Officio Cheyenne, WY


2019-2020 Board Committees

Executive Committee Chair – Bernadine Craft, Chair-Elect – Milward Simpson, Immediate Past Chair – Carol Seeger, Treasurer/Finance Committee Chair – Fred Schmechel, Secretary/Nominations Committee Chair – Sarah Jo Sinclair, Grants Committee Chair – Isabel Zumel
Finance Committee Board Treasurer/Chair – Fred Schmechel, Bernadine Craft (Chair), Milward Simpson (Chair-Elect), Carol Seeger (Past Chair)
Nominations Committee Board Secretary/Chair – Sarah Jo Sinclair, Maggi Murdock, Nancy Guthrie
Grants Committee Chair – Isabel Zumel, Warren Murphy, Scott Henkel (ex officio)
50th Anniversary Task Force Chair – Mary Guthrie, Barb McNab, Maggi Murdock, Kristi Wallin
Advocacy Task Force Chair –Milward Simpson, Bernadine Craft, Sandy Caldwell (ex officio)

Wyoming Humanities relies on donations from individuals and businesses to provide top quality programming to all of Wyoming’s residents. Interested in donating?

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

Join our mailing list to receive our latest press releases and blog articles.  Keep an ear to the ground with humanities!

You have successfully subscribed!